Webb: Mrs. Webb on Mr. Webb, Part II

Standard
playoffs

Lifelong Kansas City Royals fans since we were kids, going to The K is one of our favorite date nights.

Ernie: What was it like watching the Royals during playoffs last year with me?

Shana: So fun. One of the few things we can agree on about TV. It was so fun. We both love that team, and we both thoroughly enjoy watching them, so to share that together made it so much more exciting.

Ernie: I’m surprised you didn’t say intense.

Shana: Yeah, you do get just a little bit intense. The whole thing was intense. Of course, it’s the playoffs, so it’s going to be intense. It was surreal when we won the World Series.

Farley_bus

Probably need to tone it down a bit during Royals games.

Ernie: How would you describe me during games on Twitter?

Shana: Honestly, you’re aggressive, borderline on being abusive [laughter].

Ernie: So that’s not who I am in real life?

Shana: No. There must be some other side of you because that is that way it comes out there.

Ernie: How would you describe my workout routine before I got Epstein-Barr Virus in April?

Shana: Awful. It was awful. It was way too much of everything. You overdid everything. Then when you were finished, you would talk about your workout like you didn’t do enough. It was definitely an addiction.

geos_pizza_6_23

Geo’s pizza, my second favorite after Shakespeare’s in Columbia, Missouri.

Ernie: What would you say are my biggest vices?

Shana: You don’t have many. If you could run right now, I think running is a vice for you. I think you’ve made giant steps away from it. Your other biggest vice was food. And not even like too much food. It was more the standard American diet addiction; the grease, the cheese, the fat, anything that was fried and bad for you, processed. I think you really struggle to stay away from those things. Everybody has vices.

Ernie: I’m surprised you didn’t say soda.

Shana: That’s right. But, I’d say writing is a positive vice for you.

Ernie: How would you describe my writing?

Shana: You like to tell a story, especially in newspapers where writers don’t always need to tell a story because they don’t have time. You find the time to get that five-minute interview, and that interview gets you just enough information to make it something heartwarming, something that makes the parents of the kids that just played feel so good. They get to relive memory of the night before. I think it’s always important for you to tell story. Even the stuff you wrote at Washburn … you always made it into something people could either relate to or feel something from reading it. It wasn’t just the facts.

[She should be my agent]

Ernie: Do you have a favorite story or blog of mine?

Shana: The one you just wrote about Fathers Day was really good, and one you wrote about your dad was really good, too.

Ernie: What don’t you like about my writing?

Shana: Sometimes I think your blogs end abruptly. I think there’s more to the story and it just ends.

[Whatev …]

Ernie: How do I typically respond to that kind of criticism?

Shana: Not well. I enjoy when you involve me in your writing. I guess in my mind you’re like, “Edit this,” and you get irritated when you say I don’t like this sentence structure. But I think it’s worth it. You go back and reread it, and make the changes that are necessary.

ernieshanasandiego

San Diego stayed classed for us during the summer of 2015.

Ernie: What are two of most fun things we’ve done together?

Shana: Our trip to San Diego. We just had so much fun. A road trip is always good time. Seeing the ocean, being in California … that was so much fun. The other, there’s a tie. One is when we go to Royals games. I think both of us find that it’s a fun place to be. The other was a date we had when you lived in Topeka. You had that apartment across from Gage Park, and we rented a couple of movies, but it was summer and really nice out. So we went out on deck and we just sat out there and drank beer and talked about philosophy and so many aspects of life.

Ernie: That was the day you helped me pack up stuff to move.

Shana: It was so great to spend that time with you. We didn’t have a care in world. We just talked. It was a really nice night.

Ernie: At what point did you think this is somebody I can marry?

Shana: It was only after you suggested it. We were both set against it, but then you were like, eh, maybe it’s OK. And I thought, “Well, he knows what it’s like to go through a divorce. He didn’t want to get remarried again. Maybe I need to at least entertain the idea.”

dadernieroyals

Of course she likes Dad. We’re a lot alike and look alike. It helps that they don’t talk politics.

Ernie: My dad is about as Republican as you can get. How do you explain that you guys get along so well?

Shana: Your dad and I get along so well because we respect each other. I’m sure we can get into heated discussions, but he doesn’t bring politics up because, at the end of the day, he doesn’t want to have an argument with me, and I don’t want to have one with him. I respect him very much. I think he’s an awesome person. I just think it comes down to respecting each other.

Ernie: What’s my best physical feature?

Shana: You’ve asked before and it’s difficult for me to answer. I’d have to say your eyes. You have really nice eyes, but also they kind of show who you are. You have very soft, caring, emotional eyes.

erniedowney

Nailed it.

Ernie: You once said I remind you of Robert Downey Jr. How in the world?

Shana: You’re kind of snarky like he is. You both have darkness to you physically: dark hair, dark eyebrows, dark beard. He’s got this witty intelligence, and that’s definitely what you have. … He does have a little more hair than you.

Ernie: What are my worst traits?

Shana: Your obsessiveness, which we’ve discussed. I guess that’s the bones of it all: you think in every situation you have to prove yourself to whomever else may be involved. It doesn’t matter if it’s your boss, friend, family, other people on Twitter, or even yourself. It’s like you’ve got to out-do your own goals; like you’re trying to prove to yourself. It’s kind of sad and sick because you don’t have to prove yourself to anybody.

Ernie: Do you know if the Royals won?

Shana: No, but I can find out.

[Grabs her phone]

Ernie: Don’t bother. I’m sure they lost. It’s a road game.

[They did]

Leave a Reply

