So I’m into fitness, Wedding Project Days 46-48: Mission accomplished

Standard
Forty-eight days into a two-month project, I hit my goal today: the pants for my wedding fit. I'm at 123 pounds lost.

Forty-eight days into a two-month project, I hit my goal today: the pants for my wedding fit. I’m at 123 pounds lost.

Mission accomplished. About seven weeks into this nine-week project, the pants for my wedding fit.

When I started, the goal was to lose about 10 pounds, which I figured would be enough to get into my pants, which were extremely tight when I purchased them.

I’ve discovered a few things along the way. One, the wellness coordinator at the gym knew what she was talking about when she said my ideal weight was between 188 and 199 pounds.

I know this because I’ve been that weight for the better part of a year now. However, the 192 pounds I weigh right now is a much more fit and muscular 192 pounds than I’ve ever weighed.

Something else I’ve discovered (I’ve known this for a long time, but this project has been a good reminder) is that the scale doesn’t tell a complete story.

It has been frustrating to be “stuck” at this weight for so long, but I’ve had a few people this week alone tell me I look quite a bit smaller than I did even a few months ago.

It's a been a long, rewarding journey.

It’s a been a long, rewarding journey from 315 pounds to 192.

MORE NSV

I’ve had a few NSVs (non-scale victories) in the three days since my last blog. First, I realized Friday that I no longer have flab on the bottom of my arms when I flex. This is one of my favorite NSVs, and one that has taken, literally, years to accomplish.

Second, I ran my fastest outdoor 10K today. I’ve broken an hour in a 10K at the gym, but there’s a significant difference in running on the treadmill and outside, particularly when I’m running in Overland Park, which has more than its fair share of steep hills and gusty winds (20 mph from the south today).

Despite the hills and wind, I ran 10k in about 59 minutes today, including a first mile under 10 minutes, something I never do, and the following two miles in about 9 minutes.

Third, I lost another pound and am down to 192 pounds, so I’ve lost 123 pounds since the end of 2009/beginning of 2010. As I’ve written and said many times, if I can do this, anybody can.

AT THE TABLE AND GYM

I’ve been under every day since my last blog. Counting today’s burn (1,100 calories), I’ve burned about 3,600 calories during the last three days, running a combined 18 miles, with some lifting, rowing and abs mixed in.

You can read my diary at My Fitness Pal.

Wedding Project Days 44-45 blog

Wedding Project Days 42-43 blog

Wedding Project Days 39-41 blog

Wedding Project Day 38 blog

Wedding Project Day 37 blog

Wedding Project Day 36 blog

Wedding Project Day 34 and 35 blog

Wedding Project Day 33 blog

Wedding Project Day 32 blog

Leave a Reply

