So I’m into fitness, Wedding Project Day 38: Running like the wind, for me anyway

Standard
From the 2011 5K at work to last month.

From the 2011 5K at work to last month.

I’ve written about non-scale victories (NSV) several times. I had some of my favorites Wednesday morning at the gym.

Despite running my usual notoriously slow first mile (about 12 minutes), I set personal bests (at least since high school) for 2 miles, 3 miles, 4 miles, 5 miles and 6 miles.

I ran two miles in the middle of my 6.5-mile run in under 18 minutes, a pace of less than 9 minutes per mile; three miles in the middle in 27 minutes (maybe a shade under) for an average of 9 minutes a mile; miles two to six in under 37 minutes for a pace of a little more than 9 minutes per mile; the last 5 miles in 46.5 minutes; and 6 miles in 58 minutes, 29 seconds, a personal best by about 30 seconds.

My burn for the first hour of the 65-minute run/walk (62 minutes running, three minutes walking) was 982 calories, also a personal best. All told, I burned 1,020 calories. I skipped my afternoon workout and worked through lunch (it happens). Still, I always think back to my first “run” three years ago, when I couldn’t job 100 yards. Pretty amazing.

Despite burning about 300 calories left than usual, I was under, partly because I didn’t have time to eat much between breakfast and dinner.

Read my food and exercise diaries at My Fitness Pal.

Wedding Project Day 37 blog

Wedding Project Day 36 blog

Wedding Project Day 34 and 35 blog

Wedding Project Day 33 blog

Wedding Project Day 32 blog

Leave a Reply

