So I’m into fitness, Wedding Project Days 34-35: Slept away

Standard

After spending most of Saturday in Topeka working on our wedding, all of us were tired.

I rarely take naps, but laid down for one at about 6 p.m., planning to wake up around 8 and get a late run in. I woke up at 8:30 p.m., figured I’d get another hour of sleep in and get a really late run in.

I woke up 12 hours later, capping a 14-hour marathon in which I barely moved, dreamed vividly and ignored the fact that I hadn’t eaten since 2 p.m. Think my body was telling me something?

Perhaps averaging five hours of sleep a weeknight isn’t the best of ideas, particularly when I’m burning well over 1,000 calories a day.

Saturday ended up being my second straight off day. Normally, I’d feel extremely guilty about taking more than one day off. I didn’t this time.

I was a little concerned about putting weight on after back-to-back days of, well, terrible eating. At least on Saturday I only ate one meal.

To make up for it, I ran more than 7 miles in pretty steamy weather. Despite a bad weekend at the table, I haven’t gained more than a few ounces.

Weekends have a been a problem … it’s been tough for me to stay on track at the table. At some point, that has to change. I’m aware of it … and I know I can do it.

Read about my routine and see what I eat at My Fitness Pal.

Wedding Project Day 33 blog

Wedding Project Day 32 blog

Leave a Reply

