So I’m into fitness, Wedding Project Day 33: Watch your words

Standard

The “Naked Gun” clip sums up my Friday. After Thursday’s record run, my body screamed for a day off, and I complied.

Unfortunately, I was covering a state softball tournament at a press box loaded with chili dogs, chips, cookies and soda. Talk about temptation. In other words, it wasn’t a good day at the table.

I’m looking forward to getting a long run in tonight to make up for the truly off day.

WORDS LIKE DAGGERS

“The Nutty Professor” is one of my favorite movies. Eddie Murphy is brilliant in several roles, and the dinner scenes are all-time classics.

But watching this movie reminds how I used to feel watching any movie or show in which obese people are picked on. When you are watching that type of show with people around you, it’s a rather lonely feeling.

It also reminds me of some of the hurtful things, some intentional, some not, that I’ve heard through the years. Even “little” things like being called “Big E.”

I’ll be the first to tell you that my weight issues were nobody’s fault but my own. Most people who are overweight know that.

That said, being reminded that you’re fat causes a lot of damage. People should think about that before they speak. There is no way I would have lost 120 pounds without the incredible support of family and friends.

There were a few instances of things I’d overhear or even subtle comments that aren’t meant to hurt my feelings … fortunately, I was strong enough this time around to move on and keep fighting.

Not everybody can do that. One comment can ruin somebody’s day. Think about that before you speak. Instead of being negative, offer something positive.

Read my food and exercise diaries at My Fitness Pal.

Wedding Project Day 32 blog

Leave a Reply

