So I’m into fitness, Wedding Project Day 31: Looking back

Standard

A year ago on May 22, I burned about 1,000 calories with a combination of a 3-mile run, 30 minutes on the elliptical machine, 20 minutes of weight lifting and old-school 8-minute abs.

I was curious how much progress I’ve made physically. The answer: A lot. I burned more than 1,300 calories today running more than 6 miles, rowing, lifting and P90X ab ripper.

The biggest improvement is in my cardiovascular workout. Last year at this time, my average speed was about 5.3 mph. Right now, it’s in the 5.8 to 6.0-plus mph.

I’d also stopped running intervals last spring when I developed shin splits. At the time, my intervals ranged from the low 4’s to low mid-6’s. Today, my intervals ranged from 5.0-5.5 to 7.0-7.5.

It’s important at times like this, when I feel like I’m in another plateau, to check these statistics and realize how far I’ve come. It’s great motivation.

As for Day 31 of this project, I was about 450 calories under my daily goal. I ate several small meals between breakfast and dinner and drank a lot of water and iced tea. Another solid day in the books.

Day 31 at the table

Way over on sodium again. The rest of my numbers, however, were pretty good. Read my food diary at My Fitness Pal

Day 31 at at the gym

Another balanced workout: Rowing, weights, abs and a short run in the morning, more than 4 miles of intervals during the lunch hour. Another day of 1,300-plus calories burned. See my routine at My Fitness Pal

Wedding Project, Day 30 blog

Wedding Project, Day 29 blog

Wedding Project, Day 26-28 blog

Wedding Project, Day 25 blog

Wedding Project, Day 24 blog

Wedding Project Day 23 blog

Wedding Project Day 22 blog

Wedding Project Day 20-21 blog

Wedding Project Day 19 blog

Wedding Project Day 18 blog

Wedding Project Day 17 blog

Wedding Project Day 16 blog

Wedding Project Day 15 blog

Wedding project Day 14 blog

Wedding project Day 13 blog

Wedding project Day 12 blog

Wedding project Day 11 blog

Wedding project Day 10 blog

Wedding project Day 9 blog

Wedding project Day 8 blog

Wedding project Day 7 blog

Wedding project Day 6 blog

Wedding project Day 5 blog

Wedding project Day 4 blog

Wedding project Day 3 blog

Wedding project Day 1-2 blog

Leave a Reply

