So I’m into fitness, Wedding Project Day 30: One month down, one to go

Standard

The wedding is a month away … time sure flies. Seems like I asked Shana to marry me the other day.

Though I haven’t lost weight at the rate I’d like, I’ve been pleased with the progress. I’ve taken my workouts to another level, and I have eaten better in the first month of the project.

Despite surprising my future mother-in-law with a retirement party (Mrs. Curtis, an English and journalism teacher, is also my mentor and had a lot to do with her daughter and I hooking up), I was under.

Considering the retirement bash consisted of cupcakes, lemonade, hamburgers and curly fries, I’m going to call that a win.

The best news of the day came at the gym, where I scored another NSV (non-scale victory). Despite a standard slow start (1 mile in 12 minutes, 2 miles in 22-plus minutes), I established a personal best for miles in an hour (6.15).

My third mile was a sub-9-minute pace and the last four were about 9-minute miles. Researching last year’s typical pace, I was running 11-minute miles. Furthermore, 16 months ago, I was running intervals at 4.5 to 6.5 max (I ran 16 consecutive minutes at 6.5 mph or faster yesterday).

As I’ve said dozens of times, victories like this prove how amazing your body is. It’ll do just about anything you want it to, if you’re willing to work and take care of it.

Onto the second month of this project!

Day 30 at the table

Not a great one. I was under because I ran 6.5 miles. Sodium and sugar weren’t bad, but protein was low. Read my food diary at My Fitness Pal

Day 30 at the gym

Only had time for one workout Tuesday, but got my money’s worth with a 6.5-mile run, including 6.15 in an hour, a personal best. All told, 1,035 calories burned. See my routine at My Fitness Pal

Wedding Project, Day 29 blog

Wedding Project, Day 26-28 blog

Wedding Project, Day 25 blog

Wedding Project, Day 24 blog

Wedding Project Day 23 blog

Wedding Project Day 22 blog

Wedding Project Day 20-21 blog

Wedding Project Day 19 blog

Wedding Project Day 18 blog

Wedding Project Day 17 blog

Wedding Project Day 16 blog

Wedding Project Day 15 blog

Wedding project Day 14 blog

Wedding project Day 13 blog

Wedding project Day 12 blog

Wedding project Day 11 blog

Wedding project Day 10 blog

Wedding project Day 9 blog

Wedding project Day 8 blog

Wedding project Day 7 blog

Wedding project Day 6 blog

Wedding project Day 5 blog

Wedding project Day 4 blog

Wedding project Day 3 blog

Wedding project Day 1-2 blog

2 thoughts on “So I’m into fitness, Wedding Project Day 30: One month down, one to go

Leave a Reply

