So I’m into fitness, Day 24: Damn blisters

Standard
Paying the price with a blister. It's not as bad as it looks ... it's covered with healing honey. Still fairly painful, though.

Paying the price with a blister. It’s not as bad as it looks … it’s covered with healing honey. Still fairly painful, though.

“A man’s gotta know his limitations.” Well, scratch that off the bucket list (quoting Dirty Harry).

In all seriousness, I did reach that point today after running just under 5 miles in 90-degree heat. I was tired, yes, but my shoes (or perhaps overdoing it) did me in.

I’ve had a blister on my right calcaneus (located above the right heel) for several days but have been treating it with blister Band-aids. Unfortunately, that didn’t cut it today. About a mile into my run, I had to stop, take my shoe off and adjust two bandages.

About a quarter mile later, I had to stop again when I could feel a blister forming on the left calcaneus. I ended up spending a few minutes of “stoppage time” pulling the gel sole cushions out of my shoes and positioning them between the back of my feet and back of my shoes.

I ran nearly four miles after the adjustment, but the damage had been done during that first mile, as you can see above. I ended up taking the rest of the day off and was 500 calories under my typical burn.

It’ll be interesting to see what I can handle at the gym tomorrow. Weights and situps won’t be an issue. Running might be, though the treadmill is much easier on my feet than concrete. If anybody has suggestions other than what I’ve tried to remedy this, please let me know.

It’s probably the shoes. They’re somewhat new and slightly different than the shoes I usually wear. But it could be that running 8 miles a day, as I have several times lately, is simply too much.

As for my intake, I managed to come in under despite burning fewer calories. Dinner, a Chipotle burrito with a ton of vegetables, was great.

On the positive side, I've got legs, and I know how to use them.

On the positive side, I’ve got legs, and I know how to use them.

Day 24 at the table

A hearty breakfast and dinner, plus a lunch of a lot of fruit. No soda or dairy again. You can read my food diary at My Fitness Pal

Day 24 at the gym

I ran outside on the Shunga Trail for the second straight day. Despite the blister issues, it was a great run. See my routine at My Fitness Pal

Wedding Project Day 23 blog

Wedding Project Day 22 blog

Wedding Project Day 20-21 blog

Wedding Project Day 19 blog

Wedding Project Day 18 blog

Wedding Project Day 17 blog

Wedding Project Day 16 blog

Wedding Project Day 15 blog

Wedding project Day 14 blog

Wedding project Day 13 blog

Wedding project Day 12 blog

Wedding project Day 11 blog

Wedding project Day 10 blog

Wedding project Day 9 blog

Wedding project Day 8 blog

Wedding project Day 7 blog

Wedding project Day 6 blog

Wedding project Day 5 blog

Wedding project Day 4 blog

Wedding project Day 3 blog

Wedding project Day 1-2 blog

Leave a Reply

