So I’m into fitness, Wedding Project Day 11: A milestone

Standard
September 2009 on the far left, January 2010 in the middle and present on the right.

September 2009 on the far left, January 2010 in the middle and present on the right.

I apologize for being a little late with the Day 11 blog …

I had another good day that included another milestone. When I reach a workout milestone, I think about where I was when I started this fitness project three years ago.

After I’d moved back home from Tulsa and was living with my father, a man in his 60s who is in great shape, we played basketball every day for several months. Our games were typical Webb games – competitive, brutal, foul fests. No cheap baskets.

Never mind that I won all but one of those games (He absolutely cheated in that game, too), it was a great workout.

Early on in those sessions, Dad said, “Hey, let’s run down to the pond and back.”

Now, I was already tired, but gave it a go. I got down to the pound, about 50 yards away, and I couldn’t run anymore.

In other words, in May 2010, I could not run 100 yards. Fast forward to 2013, and I average 5 to 6 miles a day, and I’m relatively certain I could run a half-marathon.

While my endurance is up significantly, though, I’ve never been fast by any stretch. In fact, breaking 30 minutes in a 5k is a victory. Considering the first mile typically takes me 12 minutes while I’m trying to loosen up, not bad.

One thing I’ve never really come close to is breaking six miles in an hour, or a 10-minute or less pace for an hour. I finally broke through that barrier on Thursday at the gym.

As I always do, I started very slowly, right at 12 minutes over the first mile. Then I figured I might as well see if I could break the 30-minute mark in 3 miles.

That didn’t happen, but the gap was closing fast on the treadmill, so I figured, hell, let’s see if we can reach 4 miles in 40 minutes. Missed it by one second.

Obviously, I wasn’t about to give up, so I went for 5 miles in 50 minutes. Finally, with a few seconds to spare.

I was very tired at this point, but I’ve been eyeing that 10k time for a while, so I kept going. 10 minutes became seven, then five, then three. By that point, I knew I was going to hit my goal. So, with a minute left, I went all in and sprinted the last minute.

By the time I was finished, I’d run the last two miles in less than a nine-minute pace. For most runners, that’s not a big deal. For somebody who weighed 300 pounds and couldn’t run 100 yards three years ago, it’s a big deal.

As I’ve written many times in my blog, if I can do this, anybody can. The first two weeks of the wedding project have been rewarding. The support from so many of you has been humbling and inspirational.

For those of you who are struggling or looking for a spark, look at the photo above. The human body and spirit are powerful things. We are capable of greatness, and we control much more than we know.

Day 11 at the table

Another solid day without dairy or soda. I snacked on kettle corn and fruit much of the day and had a small portion of chicken tenders and baked fries for lunch. For dinner, I made the family pasta with grilled onions, peppers and corn. And, of course, a staple of ours: baked tater tots. Read my food diary on My Fitness Pal

Day 11 at the gym

Once a week I don’t get up at 5 a.m. to hit the gym. But I did run about 6.5 miles to make up for it. Another 1,000-plus calorie burn. See my routine on My Fitness Pal

Wedding project Day 10 blog

Wedding project Day 9 blog

Wedding project Day 8 blog

Wedding project Day 7 blog

Wedding project Day 6 blog

Wedding project Day 5 blog

Wedding project Day 4 blog

Wedding project Day 3 blog

Wedding project Day 1-2 blog

Leave a Reply

