I’m into fitness, take 22: I did it!

Standard

At 199 pounds, 111 pounds lost.

I did it. Two years later, I did it. I weighed in at 198.8 on Monday. As written in previous blogs, my optimum weight is 188 to 199 pounds.

In the months leading up to that breakthrough, I wondered what I’d do once the scale finally tipped in my favor. Tears? Possibly. I mean, hell, losing 111 pounds is life-altering.

I didn’t cry. I smiled. Then I asked the girlfriend to share the moment as I stepped back on the scale. After all, she’s been a big part of this project. So have all of you who read this blog. Your support has been amazing.

My first thought after that weigh-in was that I’ve got about 10 pounds to go to get to where I want to be. I’ve come this far, I might as well shoot for 188.

A few moments over the past two years …

This photo is from September 2009, right before I moved to Tulsa. I left to be closer to home, continuing to chase happiness. I weighed in at a shade under 300 pounds here.

From the beginning of 2010. I wasn’t in Tulsa long, but I can tell you where Pizza Hut, Taco Bell, Taco Bueno and several other junk food eateries are located. It’s also why I swelled to 310 pounds, possibly more, rather quickly.

From June 2010, about a month after I moved back to Kansas. Don’t let the smile fool you, I was miserable. I’d lost about 40 pounds to weigh 270 at this point but was in the midst of a breakup and off-and-on relationship that summarized my willingness to settle for bullshit.

From September 2010, right around the time I moved to Topeka. After a summer of weights, running and playing basketball with dad, I’d dropped another 30 pounds to weigh 240. I was still miserable, though, working a part-time job and still engaged in said relationship.

From April 2011, a few months after I started dating the woman who has changed my life. I had not lost any more weight, but I was happy. I’d secured a full-time job and finally decided that I deserved somebody amazing to share my life with. When I started thinking like that, boom, it happened.

From July 2011 during a trip to St. Louis, I’d actually gained a few pounds and weighed 247. It was once I got back from this trip and moved in with the girlfriend that I got serious about eating healthy.

From September 2011, my first 5K. I went from 247 on July 17 to 230 in late August, all by cutting out dairy and soda (plus a high-octane workout program). By late September, I’d dropped another 10.

From November 2011, trying on my tux for the Bow Tie Ball. One of my prouder moments during this project.

From April 2012, at 203 pounds. That was five pounds ago.

3 thoughts on “I’m into fitness, take 22: I did it!

  1. Sheila

    Very proud of you Ernie. And never forget that you are the one responsible for this. Other factors may have motivated you, but ultimately it was the desire and strength inside of you that made this happen. Awesome!

Leave a Reply

