I’m into fitness, Take 21: Screw the scale

Standard

Progress is also evident in photos. Skinniest I’ve been since 2001.

I’ve been warned. “Do not weigh yourself every day.” Yet, there I am, every day, on the scale. I know there’s a chance I’m going to be frustrated. A pretty good chance.

I know it could go the wrong direction and really piss me off. I’m still waiting for the scale to read “LOL” at some point.

I can’t help myself. It’s been that way forever. The lower readings are like crack. Or at least what I imagine crack to be, minus the addiction, rotting teeth and death.

I’ve also been told many times to pay more attention to my clothes, the mirror (another object I’ve had a tenuous relationship with over the years) and how I feel.

Today was a good reminder that the last sentence is a much better reflection of progress than weighing yourself constantly.

The button on a pair of dress pants finally popped off. Instead of sewing it back on (I can hear the laughter at that thought), I scrambled to find my belt, which I haven’t worn in a few months.

Relieved to find it, I put the belt on only to discover that it’s way too big. As in four inches. That’s progress.

As far as the scale goes … I’m in the 202-203-pound range, nearly 110 pounds less than a few years ago and about 13 to 14 pounds from what I want to weigh.

I realize some of you are thinking “only d-bags post photos like this.” But, what the hell, I’ve never had anything resembling muscles. Ten months just to achieve that little bump on my arm. Nobody said it was easy or fast!

Do you know where the weight room is?

Another sign of progress? The gym, specifically the weight loft at work.

After finishing several dozen pushups (hell, I couldn’t do a pushup in 2009), I went to the butterfly machine. It hit me that I was doing nearly twice as much weight as August 2011.

Same thing with single-arm rows. Nine months ago, I was lifting about 40 pounds on those. Today, it’s 80.

Arnold presses? I started those in November. I’m lifting 225 percent more six months later.

Progress may seem slow day-to-day, but try looking back after a few months or work. You’ll be amazed.

And, as I always say, if I can do this, anybody can.

4 thoughts on “I’m into fitness, Take 21: Screw the scale

  1. Mandy

    Amen! I am there with you! I have a love hate relationship with the scale. However I keep going. I just started the weights in my workouts but I am loving pulling clothes out from last summer and them being too big. You are an inspiration and thanks for putting out there how I feel as well!!

  2. Be proud of your muscles. I will be posting mine soon! I am guilty of weighing myself every day, but I realize that I probably weigh a lot because I am a bit muscular now!

Leave a Reply

