I’m into fitness, take six: Finally, a 5K!

Standard

First off, I apologize for being on hiatus the past two weeks. I blame work and life. It’s not that I’ve slacked off on the whole fitness thing. In my last blog, I noted that I hit 220 pounds on the scale. Since, I’ve dropped down to a little less than 218 pounds. Slow progress, but progress nonetheless.

I also wrote about the rewards a few weeks ago, milestones included. I reached another one today. For the past few months, I’ve been gearing up for our 5K run at work (the Washburn Alumni Association Fun Run). That included clocking more than 80 miles during the Sahara-like August we had.

Not until today, 11 days before the Fun Run, had I run even two straight miles without walking at least a little bit. But, finally, after months of work, I ran every bit of a 5K, three miles.

Here’s a little trip through my mind – and body – as I ran today …

Closing on the start, my mind trying to focus on the task at hand: my daily power lunch (3 miles of run/walk, 40 minutes of weights and at least 300 situps). Shit, a gusty wind. That’ll be great to run into. Oh well, at least it’s not 150 degrees. Time to start, the iPod set on the song it always is at the beginning of these runs …

About a quarter mile in, body not feeling so great. No sweat beads on my forearms yet, usually a sign that I’m getting a good workout in. Starting to think not running on Saturday and Sunday was a bad idea. Then again, I did Tae-Bo Sunday and realized that Saturday consisted of two hours straight of this …

Moves like Jagger Saturday at Winefest

And, yes, I’m drinking. But focus, that’s dancing. And, according to the girlfriend, it was much better than this …

About a half mile in now, beautiful day, body feels better. Legs not hurting. Still hoping to make it to the halfway point without walking. Up next on the iPod, Michael Buble. Do I like Michael Buble? No. But I find that his music makes me run faster in hopes that the song will end more quickly.

Now I’m at three quarters of a mile, still feeling decent. Good sweat beads on my arms. Workout definitely on …

Almost halfway done, just a quarter mile left to the halfway point. Slowing down a bit … is that a god damn cramp I feel in my calf? Really? Seriously? I knew I didn’t drink enough water today. Then I catch a break on the iPod …

Finally halfway home, might as well keep on running. As I turn …

Knew it. F#&king wind. Straight out of Twister. Tired, legs a little sore, a little feeling like a cramp in the ribs developing. Let’s at least get to the two-mile mark.

Nearing two miles. Suddenly a bicyclist comes flying by, nearly plowing over me. Seriously, dude, I wish you nothing but the best …

Oh, and by the way, coasting on your bike is not exercise. Just sayin. Anyway, past two miles, thinking, I can do this shit. Need a little help from my iPod. Shuffle goes first to Alison Krauss. Uh, no. Then Ben Folds Five. Uh, no. Ah, hell yeah, this’ll get me to 2.5 miles …

Wow, just a quarter mile left. Fully expect to slip or be run over by somebody on a bike. Nope, just a couple of jackwagons jumping their remote control cars on the sidewalks. Would love one of those in my scar-tissue ravaged knees. Seriously, I will …

Yes! Fifty more feet. 40 … 30 … 20 … 10 …

I’m exhausted. Covered in sweat. Panting. Body aches. It feels great. Bring on the Fun Run.

One thought on “I’m into fitness, take six: Finally, a 5K!

Leave a Reply

