More on this whole fitness thing

Standard

Have to admit, I’m overwhelmed at the response to my first blog on fitness. Thanks so much for joining me on this journey (sounded way too much like a hippy there). Before I wax poetic, something I used to identify with …

OK, on to the blog. Here’s a look at today’s activity. I won’t do this everyday, just here and there, though I do keep track of everything I eat and drink, as well as my workouts, in a journal. I recommend it to everybody. It’s very interesting to look back and see what you’re consuming, and how much you’re moving …

THE INTAKE …

Breakfast: English muffin with real butter (better for you than that fake garbage), one sausage link, one banana, one small glass of tea, one small glass of water.

Lunch: Two small/medium leftover dairy-free chicken enchiladas, cantaloupe, 1.5 bottles of water.

Dinner: Grilled Cheese (fake, of course) sandwich, tater tots (baked), green beans, glass of tea, one Blue Moon beer (bottle)

THE OUTPUT …

Three-mile run, 30 minutes lifting weights, 400 situps

FAKE CHEESE

Several of you asked about the fake cheese. It’s called Daiya. Good for just about anything, and tastes pretty damn good, too …

WORKOUT TIP

Running: Take an iPod. Some runners will say this is a terrible idea. Well, listening to my feet pound the pavement, body laboring and deep breathing is a terrible idea. Besides, nothing gets your blood flowing like these …

EATING TIP

I stole this one from the Shana, as I call her. Of course, the first few times I heard it, I thought it was ridiculous. It’s not easy cutting out things like soda or ice cream or cheeseburgers. But those are choices. I find myself saying this a couple times a week when I’m craving something I don’t need to eat: “I can eat (or drink) that, but I choose not to.” I know, it sounds a little silly. But try it. It’s actually liberating when you say that to yourself and walk away from that Dr. Pepper.

RECIPES

DAIRY-FREE CHICKEN ENCHILADAS

  • 1 T. corn starch
  • 2 cups almond milk
  • ½ cup finely ground raw cashews
  • ¼ cup nutritional yeast
  • ½ cup mild salsa, either store-bought or homemade
  • ½ t. garlic powder
  • ½ t. salt
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 medium-large onion, chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 8 corn torillas
  • 1 can mild or medium red enchilada sauce

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 F.

In a small saucepan, combine the cornstarch with 2 T of the almond milk, stirring until dissolved. Add the remaining almond milk, ground cashews, nutritional yeast, salsa, garlic powder and salt, stirring until well combined. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens, about 3 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside.

3. In a heavy bottomed skillet over medium heat, heat the olive oil, adding the chicken breasts, onion and bell pepper once hot. Cook the chicken, turning once, until it bounces back to the touch, about 6-7 minutes. Using a slotted spatula, transfer the chicken breasts to a plate lined with paper towels and pat off the excess oil. Chop the cooked chicken into 1-2” pieces and stir the chopped chicken along with the onions, peppers and cilantro into the “cheese” sauce.

4. Spoon even amounts of the filling into the tortillas. Roll the tortillas, tucking in the ends, and arrange them in a single layer in a 9”x 13” casserole dish. Pour the Red Enchilada Sauce over the enchiladas and bake uncovered for 20 minutes. Serve hot.

DAIRY-FREE ALFREDO

  • 1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 -2 garlic clove, minced
  • 3/4 cup plain soymilk
  • 2 teaspoons all-purpose flour
  • 3 -4 tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • oregano
  • salt
  • black pepper
  • 1 pinch nutmeg

Directions

Heat oil over medium heat in a large skillet. Add minced garlic and lightly saute just until fragrant.

Stir in the flour and stir for about one minute. This will be thick.

Slowly pour in the milk.

Add salt, pepper, oregano and nutmeg. Stir until creamy and thick.

Turn off the heat and stir in nutritional yeast.

12 thoughts on “More on this whole fitness thing

  1. Great blog. I have an app on my iPod called My fitness pal. It’s been a real eye opener about what I eat and how many calories that really amounts to. I put in my exercise for the day and then proceed to break down everything I eat. I also put my weight and height in and my weight loss goal so it tells me how many calories I should consume every day to reach my goal safely.

    There’s no way I could exercise without music pumping in my ears. It’s the only thing that helps me push through the treadmill or bike. Since I workout at home, I listen to Pandora a lot through wi-fi. Having a variety of music on a pre built station I love really helps to motivate me because honestly, I hate to workout. Still waiting on that super high everyone talks about. I know I feel better later on during the day but I’m cussing it the whole time I’m doing it…;-)

    • Ernie Webb III

      Thanks, Tina. I loosely keep track of calories and rarely consume more than 2,000. Most of the times it’s probably in the 1,500 to 1,800 range. I do not track fat grams because I know almost all the fats I eat are good ones. I also will do Tae-Bo on my laptop, so I can watch TV because I have the routines memorized. My favorite show to watch during a workout is Man vs. Food. Great irony. As far as that “high,” for me it’s a smaller pants size or shirt, muscles becoming more defined (and visible for the gf lol) in my arms, or when Shana will look at me and say, “I can really see where you’re slimming down.” Of course, you’ve always been in shape, so that high might be more difficult to obtain 🙂

  2. Ilene Reid

    So where do you fing this fake cheese, the health food store??? Never heard of it. Just the skinny cow cheese. Always enjoy your bogs, except when it comes to KU sports!! 🙂

    • Ilene Reid

      Good grief, I can’t spell today!!! That should be “find” & “blogs”, but I’m sure you could figure it out. Sorry.

  3. Those enchiladas sound A-MAZING, and good for you on using REAL BUTTER. It’s amazing how people think that putting fake shit in your body is healthier. Doink. Also, totally agree on the iPod….I can barely make it a lap around the hood without mine–of course, let’s face it, I can barely make it a lap anywhere quite yet….period….but the tunes definitely help! So, why did you decide to cut out dairy? Just curious….I’m always anxious to hear the reasons people make dietary changes, and I need to be educated as to what the benefit is. Education is good 🙂

    • Ernie Webb III

      How’s the rehab going? Hopefully better than Amy Winehouse’s, though her’s was crack and alcohol and yours the ankle. At least you’re up and around, right? I decided to cut out dairy because Shana talked about it and explained to me about all the hormones and other shit that comes with it because of the way they treat the animals. She lost a bunch of weight largely because she cut that stuff out several years ago. Lost a bunch WITHOUT exercise. It took some time, but I was ready to give it a try. In the first two weeks I dropped dairy and gave up pop, I dropped nine pounds. Granted, that coincided with my three-mile runs in 115-degree heat indexes. I thought it was going to be virtually impossible to drop dairy, but I’m used to it five weeks later. Again, it’s that whole “I choose not to put that shit into my body” thing. I try to think about the consequences, mostly toward my workouts. I figure if I eat that cheese or drink that soda, half, if not more, of my workout is compensation. Screw that! Oh, and on the enchiladas, I don’t use that exact recipe. The other night I used a bunch of seasons, from louisiana hot sauce to dijon mustard to pepper. I also dropped in some jalapeno peppers and added a decent amount of that Daiya cheese. Very good.

  4. Donna Hinkle

    EB, I channeled you today and walked to all meetings (2 blocks away from my office), drank lots of water, more fruit and protein and stayed away from the cobbler that they were serving in the cafeteria.

Leave a Reply

